## **Honors Council**

# 2019-2020 Annual Report to the PSU Faculty Senate

The Honors Council makes policy recommendations and establishes general standards for the University Honors Program and departmental honors tracks; coordinates review of new Honors courses; and reviews campus-wide resources, practices, and services for high-achieving students.

#### Council chair:

Cornelia Coleman (HON)

# **Council members:**

Jonathan Bird (ECE)

Todd Bodner (PSY)

Joseph Bohling (HST)

Stephanie Bryson (SSW)

Debra Clemens (OIA)

Harrell Fletcher (A&D)

Yasmeen Hanoosh (WLL)

Hollie Hix-Small (SpEd)

Bin Jiang (MTH)

Mauri Matsuda (CCJ)

Eva Nunez (WLL)

Joan Petit (LIB)

Shuvasree Ray (CHE)

Christina Sun (CH)

Lawrence Wheeler (HON)

## **Student members:**

Liliana Brock

Peter Wedlake

### **Consultants:**

Susan Jeffords (Provost)

Shelly Chabon (Dean of Interdisciplinary General Education and Vice Provost for Academic Personnel and Leadership Development)

Brenda Glascott (Director of University Honors College)

Amy Spring (UNST Council Representative)

### **Council Business:**

This year the Honors Council participated in planning for the Honors College Fiftieth Year Celebration, which included an alumni gathering during Fall 2019 and a special event with noted writer Michael Chabon in late January 2020. Due to the university response to COVID-19, spring anniversary events have been delayed until Fall 2020.

In a continuation of business from 2018-19, the Honors Council met in Fall/Winter with Honors College Director to review the text of the revised council charge, per recommendation of the Honors College academic program review (APR). Discussion and additional suggestions for revision were proposed and accepted, and are currently being incorporated into the charge. The revised charge will better reflect the goals of all programs for high-achieving students with an emphasis on student success. We expect to continue this work through the end of Spring term.